On The Fence

Live to Write - Write to Live

nanofence            Last November, I participated in National Novel Writing Month, better known as NaNoWriMo. I didn’t write an entire novel in those thirty short days, but I did I add 50,000 words to a novel that was already underway, and that made me a winner.

I loved having that goal and that deadline. Dorothy Parker famously said that “writing is the art of applying ass to seat,” and Nanowrimo certainly motivated me to stay in my chair.

Participating in NaNoWriMo gave me permission to write and write and write and to keep on writing: the essential task necessary to advance the novel I was working on.

  • I loved Nanowrimo on the days I could chalk up another 2,000 words.
  • I hated Nanowrimo on the days I had no words to add to my tally.
  • I loved Nanowrio for helping me buckle down and spill the goods.
  • I…

View original post 387 more words

Leave a Reply

